It’s a small world

The passport we’ve been waiting for, the one that’s been holding everything up, the only one left to come, just arrived in the mail 10 minutes ago! Much exultant whooping commenced, the little dog leapt, and the parents took up their phones to make calls they’d been waiting to make for weeks. Plan A is in motion!

On another New Zealand note, look what I found at my local little grocery store:

A graceful little bottle of olive oil from the very region we’re going to call home. Globalization, I think olives have long had a history with you. A. took a look at it and said, “There must have been really high shipping costs to get that all the way here. How much was shipping?” I made wide eyes at my savvy 2nd grader and told him I had no idea–it was on the shelf at Town and Country. Crazy, eh?

When I go to the Far North New Zealand Olive Oil Company’s website, I see that their North American retail outlets are all Seattle-area locations. Such luck!

Let’s take a closer look at this label:

What does J5 mean?

It’s a variety of olive. From www.devonolives.co.nz,
“J5 is sourced locally in the Far North but originally was introduced by the Dalmatian gum diggers who came to New Zealand from Croatia in the late 19th century. Milton Johnson, nurseryman, took cuttings from a 100 year old tree near Hokianga and developed the J1 through J5 cultivars which thrive in Northland. J5 produces a rich, golden, buttery oil full of flavour.”

I’ll add that it makes an amazing salad dressing whisked together with some fresh-squeezed lemon juice, some oregano, and some salt and pepper.

And a last NZ connection: My favorite author right now is Katherine Mansfield, who I started re-reading because she grew up in NZ and wrote about New Zealand life. She was writing long enough ago that her short stories are available free, online. Here’s one of my favorites, At the Bay, a good read-aloud to older children (at least my 14, 11, and 8-year old like it when I make them sit down and listen for a spell).

Olive oil, a passport, and stories, all at my fingertips. When I think about women’s lives all around the world, from long ago and currently, I feel so incredibly lucky.

Leave a Reply

