Four-berry Chutney

I’m calling my concoction a chutney because of the Indian-infused flavors, but it’s really a sauce. A glowing, garnet-hued, piquant sauce that’s equally good with chicken, turkey, or sweet potatoes.

The genesis was a bowl of edible goodies growing around my yard:
salal berries
blackberries
blueberries
chokecherries

The process:

1. Pick around 3 cups of berries
2. Add grated ginger (2 tsp.)
3. Give a generous shake of garam marsala (1 tsp.) (1)
4. A pinch of salt
5. Cook down in a saucepan, around 30 min.

Strain in a wire mesh strainer or a food mill. Cooled consistency will be a fine sauce, rather than a chunky chutney. It would work as a salad dressing too–conflated chutney!

(1) The garam masala I use includes cinnamon, cardamom, black pepper, cloves, cumin, and coriander.

4 thoughts on “Four-berry Chutney

  1. The sauce sounds yummy, but I am mostly drooling over the fablous colors of the berries! I want to paint a room of my house in those colors, just so I can have them to look at all the time.

Leave a Reply

