In transit

Bus #4, 7:15 am one day last week:

An elderly man with tremors and a deep cough on his way to Harborview Medical Center makes eye contact with me and profusely offers his seat. I decline, assuring him I’m fine standing. He smiles and continues shaking, even though he is hugging himself.

Bus #3, 12:22 pm

Elderly woman to bus driver: How do I get to the Whole Foods? I’m on a gluten-free diet, so I have to buy my food there.

Driver: Whole Foods?

Woman: Yah. There’s a special kind of bread I like there… It’s a hard diet to follow.

This morning the bus got stuck on 7th Avenue, so I exited with the rest of the passengers and started hiking uphill. It was so beautiful out that I kept walking up Cherry Hill all the way to 23rd Avenue. Turns out I can make it from downtown to GHS in 30 minutes, in ballet flats, no less.

Riding the light rail to the airport with cousin J.

A. coming home on the ferry.

2 thoughts on “In transit

  1. I LOVE the manners and chivalry of the older generations. No level of feminism in myself will ever make me shun the offer of a seat or the act of a man holding a door open for me. I’ve tried instilling these values in my own sons, but it is very hard to work against the current perceptions where such things are often considered “weird.”

    • Hi Brooke! I hear you. I’m of two minds about chivalrous behavior–yes, my feminist lens means I see it as inequity writ large (I don’t want to be on the receiving end of noblesse oblige!), and yet many interactions initially prompted by an antiquated code of chivalry result in such beautiful displays of human kindness.

Leave a Reply

