Mad about madeleines

Because the gluten-free monsieur had a migraine, and because I happen to have a madeleine pan (courtesy of said monsieur), and because I have both a great sympathy for migraines and a great weakness for Proustian lemon cookie-cakes, I give you: gluten-free madeleines.

P.S. He ate one bite and pronounced it delectable before sinking back into his pillow with closed eyes and a great sigh.

I baked the classic (white flour) madeleines on Christmas morning but didn’t think to take any pictures for comparison’s sake. This second version browned much more, with a crunchy carmely varnish.
(I adapted this recipe and if I do say so myself, the batter was better for it. Seriously, these are really good.)

1/2 cup butter
3 eggs
1/2 cup tapioca flour
1/2 cup almond flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
2/3 cup sugar (I might reduce this a smidge next time)
zest from 1/2 an orange
zest from 1 lemon
1 tsp. vanilla

Melt 1/2 cup butter and allow to cool while you do the other steps:

Preheat oven to 375. (This is an estimate; I started baking at 425 and went down to 350 due to my temperamental gas oven).

Whisk the eggs well and then whisk everything (including the butter) together, until there aren’t any lumps left. Spray madeleine pan with olive oil (or whatever you like–I like the flavor of olive oil with sweet things). Spoon 1 tablespoonful into each shell and bake for approximately 10 minutes. Turn out immediately.

Last batch:

4 thoughts on “Mad about madeleines

  1. Wow! I’m coming over to your house next time I have a migraine. Around here, I’m lucky to get a Coke Zero and a few minutes of peace and quiet (and that’s if I lock myself in the bathroom). 🙂

  2. Ah, Brooke, you know what? I’m sure I could figure out a sugar-free version just for you. Yeah, IKWYM–mama duty and migraine dolor just don’t go together.

  3. I sent a comment last night but it didn’t show up, so if you find two comments from me don’t be surprised.
    These look sooo yummy! It looks like I need to get myself a madeleine pan. Thank you for posting the recipe. Darrell has been the cook around here lately so that I can work on my medical transcription program, maybe he will make me some of these.

Leave a Reply

