Exit

Overheard at 12:30 pm, bus 74

Guy in mid-20’s or so (suddenly very loud): What’s 4 plus 6?
Girl also in mid-20’s (matching him in volume): I dunno! 23?
Guy: Nah, girl. Four plus six.
Girl: 11?
Guy: No! It’s 10.

Me (looking out window in increasing despair): ?? Performance art? Two hapless souls navigating life with less than a full deck? I step over a used condom and exit the bus at Pioneer Square. The gusts have whipped themselves into a storm during my ride, and I button my coat as I walk north.

Leave a Reply

