A new trick

2009-06-20 12-1.58.01

I took the first day of a two-day scooter training course today; it was a little nerve-wracking and a lot of fun. Males outnumbered the females four to one in the class, and the oldest person taking the course is 84. 84!!! I hope I’m still learning new tricks when I’m in my 80’s.

The course is held in Seattle and Kent through the Evergreen Safety Council–I’ll soon have a motorcycle endorsement on my driver’s license. No telling how soon I’ll have a scooter, but I’m keen on the Fly Il Bello.

4 thoughts on “A new trick

  1. That scooter is too darn cool. You’ll look like you should be scooting across the Italian countryside on it. You’ll have to get a slim leather helmet, some aviator goggles and a long, cream scarf to complete the look! 🙂

  2. Hi Brooke! Yeah, Italy or France. Unfortunately for fashion statements, I’m hyper-safety-conscious and my helmet is a full-face monster. No long scarves, either, unless I want to end up like Isadora Duncan.

  3. I got a scooter last year, they are a BLAST to ride. I got the Motocycle endorsement by using my scooter to pass the test. I got the Piaggio Fly 150, which I highly recommend! (around $2,500 – $3,000 new) and gets 65+ MPG.

    I purchased a Vento 150 initially, but soon discovered the poor quality workmanship that this Mexican based company had. One of the lugnuts on the wheel was coming loose after only 2-3 months of use (having bought it almost brand new).

    The Piaggio has a much better feel and is surely safer. The automatic transmission makes driving it easy, and the brakes & suspension are much better too.

    Let me know which one you end up getting?

    Adam

  4. Hi Adam! I got your FB message too, and it’s good to get your input. As soon as I decide on one, I’ll let you know. I’m still having fun perusing Craigslist and lingering in the looking phase.

Leave a Reply

