Year-round gardening

That was the name of the class hosted by Bainbridge Gardens on Saturday, and the turnout was a good deal larger than they had anticipated (by chance I showed up early and got a seat). Leda Langley of Langley Fine Gardens on Vashon Island was a knowledgeable and delightful speaker.

Here are some things I learned:

*Peat pots are not sustainable; use coconut-fiber pots or other renewable-fiber pots for seed starting.

*Plant your potatoes on St. Patrick’s Day.

*Try container gardening for “hot” plants like peppers and tomatoes (which I’m going to do because my lovely cherry tomatoes got late blight last year).

*From a useful planting guide for year-round gardening in the Pacific NW: I’m going to start broccoli, brussels sprouts, and a few others now.

seedpots

Here are my pots, on my kitchen window-sill for easy watering access and sunlight.

2 thoughts on “Year-round gardening

  1. Sigh. I’m still so disappointed about missing the class. Maybe the good turn-out will prompt them to hold a similar class again.

    By the way, where did you get your sprout pots? Can you plant the whole pot once the seeds have sprouted?

  2. Hi Brooke! I picked these up at Bainbridge Gardens for under $2 a dozen, and yes, you can just plant the whole pot in the ground.

Leave a Reply

