Food notes

* A’s preschool teacher is a model of sustainable living and she uses these waxed paper bags instead of plastic sandwich bags. I bought some at Town & Country, and they’ve worked great. We just fold the top over and staple it shut and they keep everything fresh.

* I’ve been studying a lot lately, which means I’ve also been snacking a lot lately. I’ve come up with the simplest homemade carmel corn recipe ever, done in the microwave.

1 bag microwave popcorn
3/4 c brown sugar
2 Tbsp corn syrup
2/3 cube butter
1/4 tsp baking soda
mixed nuts

Put sugar, corn syrup, and butter into glass bowl and microwave for 2 min on high. Stir until butter is incorporated, microwave on high again for 2 minutes. Stir in baking soda and pour over popped corn and nuts. It turns out sweet and salty and crispy-crunchy.

* Tea-time at our house has gradually grown to become more ritualized as we’ve acquired the accoutrements. I’ve been making various Rooibos teas, with 2% evaporated milk or rice milk instead of cream in the tiny creamer. It’s a sort of English, African, Pacific Northwest fusion and a nice time with the kids. I used to put their after-school snack out and start doing other things, but lately I sit at the table with them for tea time and go through the mail and do various paper-work while they tell me about their day.

3 thoughts on “Food notes

  1. sounds yummy. did you know you can pop regular popcorn in the micro in a paper sack? 1/4 c corn in a regular lunch sized sack, fold over top a couple of times, heat abt 2 minutes on hi. clean, fast, no chemicals!

  2. That sounds good, Wendy–it would be more economical, too. I’d just add a 1/4 tsp. of salt to the recipe if I were using plain popcorn. I have tried popping corn in the microwave, but I’ve had bad luck with burned popcorn, burned bags, microwaves that smell like smoke a month later, etc. Maybe I’ll give it another go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

