Things I know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful

…if I do say so myself. 🙂

feltedbag

This felted wool bag got its start back in August, when I bought the wool from a shop in Friday Harbor, San Juan Island. It’s crocheted, since I can do that without looking, and I worked on it when I watched the Olympics, and then during the presidential campaign speeches.

Yesterday I put it in the washing machine (inside a pillowcase), with a big towel to provide friction, and sent it through a couple of heavy-wash cycles (a front-loading machine doesn’t wreak the same damage as a traditional agitator), and got it to the size I wanted–about 1/2 the size I made it originally.

Now the only thing left is to pick a perfect closure. Shell? Bead?

Here’s a lovely luminary I picked up at the fair trade Christmas market at Rolling Bay Church this morning. This was made by an artist in Indianola, WA, but there were beautiful handmade goods from all over the world.

luminary

And here’s the lace-leaf Japanese maple paper I made yesterday, illuminated by the lace-leaf Japanese maple luminary:

laceleafpaper

4 thoughts on “Things I know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful

  1. I’m impressed with your crocheted bag. My chocheting lessons didn’t do much for me – I never practiced after I learned, and I have nothing to show for the time I spent learning. Good job for sticking with it, and passing the knowledge onto your kids! Maybe you can teach my kids someday… 🙂

  2. Hi, Suzanne! Well, it’s not terribly hard to do straight stitching–I’d love to show you. I wish knitting came as easily to me as crocheting, truth be told.

  3. Hi Ashley! Wow you are miss crafty I can’t believe it. Well, I guess I can! Seattle looks beautiful and it looks like you guys are enjoying yourselves. Wish we could come visit you someday!

Leave a Reply

