Cross-your-fingers hydrangea project

This afternoon I finally pruned back our very leggy hydrangea.  It has a habit of growing out over the walkway, ambushing folks on the way to the front door with its wet, floppy flower heads.  I think I’ve got it to a manageable point, and I’ll stake the rest back a bit.

I’ve got a gardening book here that says hydrangea cuttings will root from winter hardwood, so I thought I’d give it a try.

transplanthydrangeas.jpg

First, I washed out a couple of pots with a bleach solution.

Next, I filled them with a 50-50 mixture of peat moss and perlite.

Then, I trimmed the stems right below a leaf node and poked them into the rooting mixture.

transplantsupplies.jpg

Now, says my book, keep it reasonably moist, wait several months, and see what roots.

Okay.

I love hydrangea blossoms, even the winter ones that look like old women’s hands with age spots and visible veins. Especially those ones.

winterhydrangea.jpg

hydrangeablossoms2.jpg

Leave a Reply

