Flora & Fauna: Backyard Deer

deer in backyardI still think they’re beautiful, they still make me gasp with surprise and pleasure that they’ve ventured so close to the house, they still make me creep out barefoot in my pajamas with a camera–but how I wish they’d leave my garden alone!

Not content with the wild berries and cherries in the backyard, they jump the fence into the side yard and eat my peas and spinach (now on the second planting, cross your fingers for me!). Our neighbors told me, “If you want a garden, get a dog.”

Hmmm. I think it’s a little less work to replant the spinach.

Leave a Reply

